Country factsheets

European Union

European Union

Download data
23 Dec 2021

Date of search

23 Dec 2021

Certificate adoption

Yes, the EU has declared that the EU COVID certificate would be launched and implemented on July 1, 2021 until June 31, 2022. All EU citizens and their family members, as well as non-EU nationals, who are lawfully living or residing in a Member State and have the ability to travel to other Member States, are eligible to get the EU COVID certificate.

Instrument type

Vaccination and immunity based

Certificate details

Each certificate includes the following information about the holder:

  • name and surname
  • date of birth
  • Member State providing the certificate
  • QR code

The EU COVID certificate can demonstrate that a person is either:

  • A vaccinated individual (Vaccination Certificate)
    • Name of vaccines/ Producer
    • Number of doses
    • Date(s) of vaccination
  • Person who previously infected with COVID-19 (Recovery Certificate)
    • Type of test
    • Date and exact time of test
    • Name of the test center and the results
  • Individuals who have COVID-19 test findings that are negative (Test Certificate)
    • Date of the test result
    • The name of the issuer of the certificate
    • Date of issuance
    • Validity date

Certificate format

EU citizens may present one of these documents, either in print or electronic format.

Entry protocol

For general measure

These citizens can present their EU COVID certificates from the following countries that are affiliated with the EU:

  1. EU member – Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden
  2. Non EU member – Albania, Andorra, Faroes, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Morocco, North Macedonia, Norway, Panama, San Marino, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, and Vatican City.

Please also have a check at the color chart that represents the infection rate from this link. That may be helpful when planning a trip.

For vaccinated travellers

          Travellers who have been fully vaccinated and have an EU Digital COVID Certificate should be free from travel-related tests or quarantine 14 days following the final dose. This should also include those who have recovered after receiving a single dose of a two-dose vaccination.

For recovered travellers

          Recovered travellers with an EU Digital COVID Certificate should be excluded from travel-related testing or quarantine for the first 180 days following a positive PCR test.

For unvaccinated travellers

          Travellers who have an EU Digital COVID test certificate should be free from any quarantine requirements: 72 hours for PCR testing and 48 hours for rapid antigen tests when accepted by a Member State.

Vaccine authorised to be used in this region

EU commission has already approved these following according to EMA (European Medicines Agency) assessment.

  • Pfizer BioNtech
  • Moderna
  • AstraZeneca
  • Johnson and Johnson/ Janssen
  • Novavax

Vaccine accepted for inbound travellers

It is subject to the permission of the relevant authorities in each country. Please see the country factsheets for further details.

Border status

Partial open. In reaction to the appearance of the new COVID-19 variant ‘Omicron’ on November 26, 2021, EU countries decided to impose an immediate, temporary ban on all travel into the EU from the following countries:

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

These restrictions, however, should not apply to EU nationals, long-term EU residents, and certain categories of important travelers, who should still be subject to proper testing and quarantine measures, even if fully vaccinated.

Every two weeks, EU Member States review and, if necessary, revise the list of non-EU countries from which non-essential travelers are permitted that includes:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity)
  • Colombia
  • Indonesia
  • Kuwait
  • New Zealand
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay


COVID certifications issued by the 33 nations (and territories) are recognised in the EU under the same terms as the EU Digital COVID Certificate. Similarly, the 33 countries recognize the EU Digital COVID Certificate.

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Cabo Verde
  • El Salvador
  • Faroe Islands
  • Georgia
  • Israel
  • Iceland
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • The Vatican