Country factsheets

New Zealand

New Zealand

Download data

Date of search

28 August 2021

Certificate adoption

Yes, Everyone in New Zealand who have been vaccinated and need formal proof of your COVID-19 vaccination for international travel can request a vaccination confirmation letter from the Ministry of Health. Moreover, New Zealand is working on new digital certificates that will record COVID-19 health status. This will include vaccination and test results.

Instrument type

Vaccination based

Certificate name

Vaccination confirmation letter


The digital certificates are expected to be available later this year.

Certificate details

A vaccination letter from the Ministry of Health will include:
1.your name
2.your date of birth
3.your NHI number
4.the name of the vaccine you had
5.the batch number
6.the number of doses you’ve received and dates administered.
The letter includes the personal information we hold about your vaccination in the COVID Immunisation Register (CIR), and your personal details which are linked to your National Health Index (NHI) number.

Certificate format

The proof of vaccination is available in digital and paper format.

Quarantine protocol

Any passengers will be subject to mandatory isolation for 14 days upon arrival at a government facility, unless they are airline crew members or citizens passing through. Travelers can transit New Zealand only if they are Australian nationals or residents on their way to Australia, or if they are approved by the government. From 19 June, the transit will be available to all Cook Islanders and Cook Islands Permit Holders who have been in New Zealand for at least 30 days and whose main aim of travel is to return home or to take up or resume work.
COVID-19 test is required all incoming travelers.

Travel bubble

Autralia, Samoa, Tonga

Vaccine authorised to be used in the country

Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca

Vaccine accepted for inbound travellers

Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca

Border status

Partially open; New Zealand has limited the entry of all foreign nationals except Australian nationals residing in New Zealand and citizens of Samoan or Tongan who make important travels.